The memory on the mobile device is divided Flash-ROM and RAM. The operating system and pre-installed applications are stored write-protected in the ROM (OS Disc). Besides that there is an area for the file system in the ROM under Windows CE 6.0, in which the user can save programs and files (user disc). After the system start parts of the operating system are kept in the RAM. The rest (Program Memory) is available to run programs.
Since the contents of the user disk also remains without battery, a protection of your installation usually will not be necessary like before under Windows CE 4.1 or 5.0.
However you can use a backup file in order to copy the configuration from one device to another. For generating or reading a back up file use the Backup Tool at START, PROGRAMS, UTILITY under Windows Embedded CE or at START, PROGRAMS under Windows Mobile. The configuration files for the scanner and WLAN are part of the backup file as well as the contents of the FlashDisk folder.
The backup file on the User Disc will be deleted by User Disk Clear. Therefore, it is necessary to use an SD-Card as target.
If you use an SD-Card, we strongly recommend using FAT32 instead of FAT16. See Technical Bulletin TB-2010008 for further details, please.
To run the backup utility on DT-X30 under Windows Mobile, you need at least Backup Utility Patch File 1.00 for both creating a backup file and restoring from it. In other words: If you perform a "User Disk Clear" operation to initialize the device to factory default settings, you will have to install the patch file prior to restoring from backup file.
To run the backup utility on DT-X30 under Windows Embedded CE (except for DT-X30R-50C) with command line options, you need at least Backup Utility Patch File 1.02. Do not forget to flush the registry to save your most recent changes before you start or perform a soft reset afterwards, e.g. by switching the device off and on again. If you create a backup with the Backup Utility Patch File 1.09 and execute a "User Disk Clear" operation, you will have to install the Backup Utility Patch File 1.09 again, before you can restore your settings from that backup file.
The Copy Devices utility is explained in more detail in our Software Manual. On both devices close all other running applications before you execute the utility. Copy Devices does not necessarily delete already existing files on the target device. Therefore, reset the target device to default settings first. Please, do not forget that changes to the registry might get lost after soft reset operation (see below).
Any changes to the registry are written to a cache. If you perform a reset operation, changes might be lost. You can flush the cash to disk by either switching the device off and on again or calling the RegFlushKey function from the Windows API.